4 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Car Registration In Montana
If you’re planning to drive in Montana, you’ll need to first register your car, or RV before hitting the road. Car registration in Montana is not only required by law, but it is also a great way to keep track of your vehicle’s maintenance. The Montana Department of Justice provides some valuable data about registering your car, but there are a few things you should know before you begin.
Here are some of the most important things you need to know if you want to register a car in Montana:
Important Things To Keep In Mind
1. Must Pay Taxes
Montana has no statewide sales tax for vehicle purchases. And although there are a few counties which enforce a local state tax, all of them together bring Montana’s average combined sales tax to just 0.002%.
The fees you’ll need to pay though, are: titling fee, registration fee, plate transfer fee and dealership documentation fee.
2. Work With a Montana Registered Agent
When you purchase a car, it’s not just the vehicle that you’re buying. You’re also buying a title and a registration certificate. These documents are required in order to legally own the car. If you buy the car in your home state, then you don’t need to worry about this step. However, if you want to buy the car in another state, then you need to get a Montana registered agent to handle this process for you.
Other reasons why it’s recommended to work with a registered agent in Montana include:
- Your agent can ensure that the paperwork is done correctly and that you’re complying with all relevant laws and regulations.
- It can help avoid any potential complications or delays that could arise if the seller or buyer doesn’t properly hold up their end of the deal.
- It can also be helpful if you need to move your car from one address to another.
- By working with a registered agent, you have someone who will be able to assist you during the process and keep you informed about everything that’s going on.
- Your agent will create a Montana LLC in your name, and register your vehicle there, saving you thousands of dollars in car purchase.
3. Montana’s No-Fault Insurance System
You may have heard about Montana’s no-fault insurance system. This means that all vehicles registered in this state must carry at least $25,000 worth of liability insurance. This includes coverage for both property damage and bodily injury. This protects drivers from high-risk drivers who might not otherwise be able to get insurance coverage.
4. Montana License Plate
When buying a vehicle in Montana, you must register and title it with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If the vehicle you purchase has been previously registered in Montana, you can use an existing Montana license plate.
But if it is not currently registered, you must obtain plates from the DMV. You must register your vehicle within 30 days of moving to Montana or purchasing it. If you are working with an agent, they can help you with everything this process involves.
The registration of a new vehicle will require proof of ownership, a certificate of origin or a bill of sale, and proof of insurance. You will also need to present your driver’s license and social security card to verify your identity and residency. The vehicle must pass a safety and emissions inspection before being registered.
Auto license registration in Montana is mandatory for all residents of the state, regardless of age. Residents who do not register their vehicle can face stiff penalties, including a fine of up to $100.
Additionally, residents who fail to renew their vehicle registration within 30 days of expiration will be subject to a $25 late fee.
The auto licensing process in Montana is fairly straightforward, and new residents or citizens from out of state that want to register their vehicle in Montana to save money can complete the process with the assistance of an agent.